top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Gilmore

Humans of Jacksonville

Updated: May 29, 2019




Kyle Renegar


“I was recently in school but that wasn’t working out for me. I was trying to do aerospace. I’m fascinated by like, planes and helicopters and rockets and all that stuff. I loved that but then it got to like, the brass tacks of it and actually going through the coursework, it just wasn’t like, the passion wasn’t there. I think I saw my first rocket launch in 2008. It was like eighth grade or tenth grade or something, I don’t remember. Me and my friends, we drove down to Daytona or like Cocoa Beach. It was a night launch. It was like the coolest thing I’d ever seen. I was like, ‘Yes, that’s it. That’s what I want to do. I’m going for it.’ But, you ever watch Breaking Bad? You know the poem that Gale says at one point? It’s by ‘W.W.’ and they’re like ‘oh, it’s Walter White’ but it’s Walt Whitman. It’s called When I Heard the Learn’d Astronomer and to summarize it’s basically that like, you don’t need to know the intricacies and the inner workings of something to know that there’s beauty in it. So he’s talking about, in the classroom, the astronomer’s like, ‘oh yeah, the helium and the hydrogen and all the bonds and blah blah that make the star and all this’ and I’m like, ‘screw that’ and I got up and walked out of the classroom and looked up in the night sky and was like, ‘yeah, I understand this.’ You know? So, that’s kind of how I looked at it and I just wasn’t doing too hot. I always saw the sheer beauty of it and that’s what got me into it. I think I just want to help people ultimately. The way I see the universe and society is pretty bleak. Cause it’s just like, since I studied aerospace and what not I just see the universe as this super massive thing and we’re just a little bit of nothing.”


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page